March Madness

No, it’s not about basketball but it is a little crazy! Each 8th grader has chosen something that they want to learn and are busy trying to learn it! This is self-directed learning with no consequences for failure – in fact failure is expected and encouraged! There is a possibility of an end product in what is being learned but it’s not about the end product but about the learning along the way. Follow along as 8th grade learns something new!

We’re learning Javascript using Codeacademy:

We’re creating games using Scratch:

We’re rebuilding computers:

22 thoughts on “March Madness

  1. I truly enjoyed reading your reflections on the March Madness process. At one point I was asked by some teachers I know if I had any students who were working in Scratch so I pointed them to this post on the blog.

    One of the teachers made this comment on Twitter:

    It’s great to read your students journaling of their game making experience.

    She did read all of your Google Site posts and tweeted about two in particular:

    Love this thought from student of @VisionsByVicky “I liked failing at first in trying to make my game & then succeeding”

    And this from student of @VisionsByVicky “I learned that making a video game is a lot harder than the normal human being would think it is”

    I hope that you all enjoyed this process.

  2. I liked Cooper’s the most. I thought it was very interesting. It was not too long and not too short. I actually wanted to keep reading unlike everybody else’s. It explained in perfect detail what he did and what he has learned all throughout March. Cooper’s was my absolute favorite.

  3. I thought that Jason’s was the most interesting to read about. I liked it because it was a awesome game he was making and it took trial and error to create his game. He had no experience in making a game and he had made a great game.

  4. I think Genevieve’s post was the best. It was educational and advanced for the grade she is in. I think it explained in full detail what she learned and what she failed at. I really enjoyed what she learned in her post.

  5. I thought that Jason’s was the most interesting to read about. I liked it because it was a awesome game he was making and it took trial and error to create his game. He had no experience in making a game and he had made a great game.

  6. I found Jason’s post the most interesting. From week to week, he showed progression in his writing and he also wrote in a very interesting way. I thought it was the most fun and enjoyable to read!

  7. I really enjoyed Giggly Gigi’s posts. They were very interesting and I think she really learned how to work on her own. She really progressed throughout the time, and she completed all 8 stages!

  8. I liked Genevieve because she explained everything in good detail. Her site was the most interesting in my opinion. Because she explained what she did,how she did it, why she failed, how to perfect it, and what she planning to do to improve it.

  9. M Favorite post was Nick Nick his had a interesting topic. Also was a fun read. It was cool because I would think rebuilding a computer would be hard and he seceded

  10. The most interesting post that I read was Cooper’s because it had many details such as finding where the ram had to be placed. His also showed the most about learning by saying he made mistakes when placing wires in the wrong places and correcting them later.

  11. I thought that Anthony’s post showed the most learning. From week to week, you could see the learning progression. By the end of the post, he really understood what he was doing and what was the point of the assignment.

  12. I think the winner for most educational is…
    Nick, Cooper, and Jonny!
    Because they all had good information about what they did.

    I think the winner for most interesting is…
    Gabby, and Amaya
    Their post were cool because they taught you and were fun to read!

  13. My favorite posts are Nicholas, Jason, and Cooper because these three showed how they learned to fail and recover from their mistakes. While reading their post, they kept me interested which kept me reading forward.

  14. I liked Violet’s post the best because she explained how she failed and how she had later overcame it. It showed good information about what she did for Scratch and how she created her game. I liked her post because it was interesting to read.

  15. My favorite post was Cooper’s post because it informed me about what he was doing the most. His post showed me that he learned many things about building a computer.

  16. My favorite post was Matthew. It was very instructional, and was very creative. The game looks very fun yet easy to play. I thing that it would be hard to create a video game in a time limit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *